Alexandra

What’s your name? Alexandra

Last name? Fefopoulou

Age? 33 (born in 1982)

Where are you from? I was born and raised in Athens but I have spent all the summers of my childhood at my mother’s hometown in Peloponnese, Vytina.

Occupation? If by asking my occupation you mean how I manage to make money for a living, then unfortunately I have to answer “none”.

Any studies? I have a degree from the department of Philosophy and Social Studies of the University of Crete, I have an M.A. in Social and Historical Anthropology from the University of the Aegean, and I’m currently trying (I hope not in vain) to finish my PhD in Modern Greek History at the University of Johannesburg.

What’s your vehicle? The funny part is that I don’t have any vehicle. In Greece, I used to drive my mother’s car and now I’m trying to convince Stergios to drive his Vespa…

What are the things you like? I find it extremely interesting to meet different people (no matter if I like them or not), new places and take thousands of pictures. I also like spending time with the people I love and spoiling my dog while being the silliest dog-parent of all time! And guess what else: I love to travel…

And what makes you feel bad? The fact that we, people find it difficult to accept others the way they are and that we have lost the meaning of what really matters. I don’t want to sound like an old-school hippie-like gal, but think about it a bit. There is no actual need in storing endless amounts of money, interfering with what your neighbor does and not giving a f*ck about the society/environment you live in.

Tell us a bit more about you… I don’t know what would be interesting for you to know about me. I can tell you the short version of the story of how I started traveling with Stergios. The last few years of my life were a bit disappointing. I can’t say that my life wasn’t good. I had my family and friends who loved me, I also had the best dog in the world. However, I had started feeling like a prisoner in the socio-economic situation in Greece. There was no hope for a decently paid job, or to be more accurate: there was no hope at all for a job in my field. That’s a main reason why I chose to do the PhD at the University of Johannesburg. My subject is the Greek diaspora in the D.R. of Congo and I started working on this for 2 main reasons: 1) my childhood dream of traveling to Africa and 2) the fact that I had started to identify myself with the Greeks who felt trapped in their country and left in search of something different. The moment I finally left Greece to go to Africa, I knew that I couldn’t be the same person anymore. I adapted to the huge differences between the world I used to live in and the new reality and I was happy to see and learn more and more. By pure coincidence, I met Stergios while we were both in the D.R.C. and we met again after 3 months in Johannesburg – always by coincidence. I wouldn’t miss the opportunity again. I jumped on the vespa and here I am, part of the team!

And…are you planning to go back to Greece sometime? That’s for sure! I can’t say when and for how long, but although Greece has disappointed me, I don’t think I can live without seeing my friends, family and my beloved dog, Marcos. All that matters to me and has defined my life until now, is relationships. What connects me with my birthplace is not any kind of national chauvinism, but those who I love – human or non-human!


Alexandra

Πως σε λένε; Αλεξάνδρα

Επίθετο; Φεφοπούλου

Ηλικία; 33 (γεν. 1982)

Με τί ασχολείσαι; Κοίτα, αν θες να μάθεις πού εργάζομαι και πώς κερδίζω τα “προς το ζην”, δυστυχώς πρέπει να απαντήσω πως είμαι άνεργη.

Έχεις σπουδάσει κάτι; Πήρα το πτυχίο μου από το τμήμα Φιλοσοφικών και Κοινωνικών Σπουδών του Πανεπιστημίου Κρήτης. Έκανα μεταπτυχιακό στην Κοινωνική και Ιστορική Ανθρωπολογία στο Πανεπιστήμιο Αιγαίου και τώρα παλεύω (ελπίζω όχι μάταια) να τελειώσω το διδακτορικό μου στη Σύγχρονη Ελληνική Ιστορία στο Πανεπιστήμιο του Γιοχάννεσμπουργκ.

Με τί κυκλοφορείς; Χα! Με τα πόδια! Όταν ήμουν στην Ελλάδα, μου δάνειζε η μητέρα μου το αυτοκίνητό της. Τώρα προσπαθώ να πείσω το Στέργιο να μου δανείσει τη βέσπα!

Με τί “τη βρίσκεις”; Μου αρέσει να γνωρίζω διαφορετικούς ανθρώπους (ακόμη κι αν μου είναι αντιπαθείς), καινούρια μέρη και να βγάζω χιλιάδες φωτογραφίες. Επίσης, μου αρέσει πολύ να περνάω χρόνο με τους ανθρώπους που αγαπώ και να “κακομαθαίνω” το σκύλο μου με ασταμάτητες αγκαλιές και χάδια. Είμαι χαζο-σκυλομαμά και δε ντρέπομαι γι’ αυτό! Α, μάντεψε τι άλλο: μου αρέσει να ταξιδεύω…

Και τί σε χαλάει; Το ότι εμείς, οι άνθρωποι, δυσκολευόμαστε πολύ να δεχτούμε τους άλλους αν είναι διαφορετικοί από εμάς και ότι έχουμε ξεχάσει τί είναι σημαντικό στη ζωή. Δε θέλω να ακούγομαι σαν “παλιομοδίτισσα χίπισσα” αλλά για σκεφτείτε το λίγο: Ποιος ο λόγος να μαζεύουμε ένα σωρό χρήματα, να ασχολούμαστε με το τί κάνει ο διπλανός μας και να μην ενδιαφερόμαστε για την κοινωνία και το γενικότερο περιβάλλον στο οποίο ζούμε;

Πες μας λίγα λόγια για ‘σένα. Δεν ξέρω τί θα ήταν ενδιαφέρον να μάθει κανείς για ‘μένα. Μπορώ ωστόσο να διηγηθώ το πώς ξεκίνησα να ταξιδεύω με τον Στέργιο. Τα τελευταία χρόνια της ζωής μου στην Αθήνα ήταν περίεργα. Δε μπορώ να πω πως δεν ήταν ωραία. Είχα φίλους πραγματικούς και μια οικογένεια πολύ δεμένη. Επίσης, είχα τον καλύτερο σκύλο στον κόσμο! Ωστόσο, κάποια στιγμή άρχισα να νιώθω αιχμάλωτη της κοινωνικό-οικονομικής κατάστασης στην Ελλάδα. Καμία ελπίδα για μια αξιοπρεπώς αμειβόμενη εργασία, ή για να γίνω πιο σαφής: καμία ελπίδα για οποιαδήποτε εργασία στον τομέα μου. Αυτός ήταν κι ένας λόγος που επέλεξα να κάνω διδακτορικό στο Πανεπιστήμιο του Γιοχάννεσμπουργκ. Το θέμα μου είναι η ελληνική διασπορά στη Λ.Δ. του Κονγκό κι ο λόγος που το επέλεξα ήταν το παιδικό μου όνειρο να ταξιδέψω στη Αφρική αλλά και το γεγονός ότι άρχισα να κατανοώ και ίσως να ταυτίζομαι με τους Έλληνες εκείνους που ένιωσαν παγιδευμένοι στη χώρα τους κι αποφάσισαν να φύγουν για να βρουν κάτι διαφορετικό. Όταν έφυγα για την Αφρική, ήξερα πως ποτέ ξανά δε θα ήμουν η ίδια. Γρήγορα προσαρμόστηκα στις διαφορές του καινούριου περιβάλλοντος και κάθε μέρα χαιρόμουν όλο και περισσότερο να ανακαλύπτω μια καινούρια πραγματικότητα. Τελείως τυχαία γνώρισα τον Στέργιο όταν ήμαστε και οι δυο μας στη Λ.Δ. του Κονγκό και τελείως τυχαία τον ξανασυνάντησα 3 μήνες αργότερα, στο Γιοχάννεσμπουργκ. Δεν υπήρχε περίπτωση να ξαναχάσω την ευκαιρία: ανέβηκα στη βέσπα και τα υπόλοιπα είναι μάλλον γνωστά…

Και πότε θα γυρίσεις στην Ελλάδα; Ή μάλλον, υπάρχει πιθανότητα να γυρίσεις; Οπωσδήποτε! Δεν έχω ιδέα πότε και για πόσο, αλλά όσο και να με απογοητεύει η Ελλάδα, δε νομίζω πως μπορώ να ζήσω χωρίς να βλέπω τους φίλους μου, την οικογένειά μου και τον πολυαγαπημένο μου σκύλο, τον Μάρκο. Αυτό που μέχρι τώρα έχει παίξει σημαντικό ρόλο στη ζωή μου και, μπορώ να πω την καθορίζει σε μεγάλο βαθμό, είναι οι σχέσεις. Αυτό που με δένει με τον τόπο που γεννήθηκα δεν έχει καμία σχέση με οποιοδήποτε σοβινιστικό-εθνικιστικό αίσθημα, αλλά με αυτούς που αγαπώ – ανθρώπους και σκύλο!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Traveling the world on a Vespa!

%d bloggers like this: